Memory Lane: Gor Mahia beat Sofapaka to lift cup


As of today, the last time Gor Mahia won the FKF cup was five years ago when they beat Sofapaka in a tense encounter.

The teams had been evenly matched and both keepers were kept busy during the first 90 minutes despite the lack of goals. Leading Gor Mahia’s charge on that day were Kevin Omondi, Rama Salim and others.

After a scoreless 90 minutes, the match went to penalties. It was here that Ivo Mapunda (and the terrible towel) created his defining moment by saving the first two penalties. The terrible towel probably made Humphrey Mieno nervous that he fired his penalty overboard.

Meanwhile Ivan Anguyo, Moses Odhiambo “Dube” and Rama Salim calmly slotted their penalties to give Kogalo the trophy for the tenth time.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *