Gor Mahia knocked out of GoTV shield by Bandari

Gor Mahia’s bid to regain the GoTV shield which they last won in 2012 has ended. The match ended 1-1 in regulation time thus forcing a penalty shootout which Gor Mahia lost 6-5

Additional reporting from the Nation
New Gor Mahia coach Dylan Kerr on Sunday watched from the stands as his team tumbled out of GOtv Shield tournament after a 5-4 post-match penalty shootout defeat to Bandari at the Thika Sub-County Stadium

Earlier, Bidco United beat Rainforest 2-0 in Thika.

Despite controlling proceedings for the better part of the game, the 15-time league champions suffered a scare early into the second half, when Bandari went ahead courtesy of Lewisw Cosmas.

The former Shield Cup champions however made amends in the 74th minute through new signing Boniface Omondi and the stalemate persisted until the final whistle, necessitating a penalty shootout.

Meddie Kagere, Boniface Omondi, Harun Shakava Musa Mohammed and Wellington Ochieng converted their penalties for K’Ogalo, but Francis Kahata and Kenneth Muguna failed from 12 yards.

Gor coach Kerr arrived in the country early Sunday morning and proceeded straight to Thika where he got his first glance of the team he has committed to coaching for the remainder of the season.

Gor Mahia have been unimpressive since winning the Sportpesa supercup. The new coach has his work cut out.


GoTV Shield: Gor Mahia take on Bandari next

After having easily sidelined Nairobi Water in the round of 64, Gor Mahia will now face a sterner test as they take on Bandari in the round of 32 of the 2017 GoTV Shield.

Bandari have not been an easy team for Kogalo. This season, Kogalo beat Bandari 2-1 at Mbaraki on April 26. However last season, Bandari opened their campaign by beating a troubled Gor Mahia side in the Supercup.

Bandari will be without former Kogalo stalwart Dan Sserunkuma who has left for Morocco. However they can still count of the experience of players like Edwin Lavatsa, Enock Agwanda, Felly Mulumba and Shaban Kenga.

Kogalo last lifted this trophy in 2012.


Gor Mahia beat Nairobi Water 3-1

Scorer: Kenneth Muguna

Kogalo opened their 2017 GoTV shield campaign on a solid note. The match was played at Thika municipal stadium. Goals by Kenneth Muguna, George Odhiambo “Blackberry” and Wellington Ochieng were enough to give Gor Mahia a 3-1 win over Nairobi Water.

Goalkeeper Fredrick Odhiambo who had a solid display at the Sportpesa Supercup was between the posts , while midfielder Jean Baptiste Mugiraneza was also in the starting line-up.

It  was the Watermen who surprisingly took the lead first via Robinson Shitandi. Gor Mahia replied through Kenneth Muguna. George Odhiambo then gave Kogalo a 2-1 halftime lead before Wellington Ochieng put the issue beyond doubt.

It was coach Zedekiah Otieno’s second match in charge. Gor Mahia have won the Cup ten 10 times, more than any other team. Their last cup win was in 2012 when they beat Sofapaka on penalties.