Gor Mahia youth brigade can make a mark

Frank Odhiambo

The Kenya Under 20 team also known as Rising Stars, recently beat Sudan 3-1. Six Gor Mahia players were named to the squad including the promising Nicholas Omondi. One of the players who received rave reviews for his performance was towering defender Frank Odhiambo who kept the Sudanese attackers at bay for 90 minutes.

However there is the case of Alphonce “Ali” Omija, a product of the Gor Mahia youth team who has also represented Kenya at the U17 level. Those who have watched him say he is the real deal. Unfortunately he is said to be moving to Kariobangi Sharks on a permanent deal.

Fans will remember that Clifford Nyakeya who is now starring in the Egyptian league, was also at Gor Mahia youth before he was taken by Mathare United on free transfer where he went on to play key roles before leaving for Egypt. It was a lost opportunity for Gor Mahia. Nyakeya should have gone to Mathare Youth on loan not on a free transfer.

Promising attacker Clinton Okoth joined Gor Mahia at the start of the 2019 season from National Super League side, Migori Youth FC. He had taken the National Super League by storm scoring 14 goals in the first half of the season and in the process attracted interest from several top clubs. He joined Gor Mahia but did not get any playing time. He has now joined Wazito FC

Rising Stars Squad;

Goalkeepers; Maxwell Mulili (AFC Leopards), Bixente Otieno (Wazito), Elvis Ochieng (City Stars).

Defenders: Boniface Mwangemi (Kariobangi Sharks), Omar Somobwana (AFC Leopards), Joseph Levin (Naivas), Wardfine Akhatsika (Chebuyusi High School), Kelvin Mose (Uweza), Alphonse Omija (Gor Mahia), Frank Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Lewis Bandi (AFC Leopards), Fredrick Alushula (Kariobangi Sharks), Rolland Ashimoto (Kakamega High School), Steiner Musasia (Talanta), Nicholas Omondi (Gor Mahia), Keith Imbali (Gor Mahia Youth).

Midfielders: Enoch Wanyama (Ligi Ndogo), Ronald Reagan (Kariobangi Sharks), Alphonse Washe (Bandari), Hamid Mohammed (Bandari), Danson Kiprono (Zoo), Ian Simiyu (Nzoia Sugar), Austine Odhiambo (AFC Leopards), Mwakio Kisaka (Riruta United), Timothy Ouma (Nairobi City Stars), Telvin Maina (Kisumu All-Stars), Arnold Onyango (USA).

Forwards: Benson Omala (Gor Mahia), Henry Meja (Tusker), Stephen Otieno (Bongonaya), Kappen Samuel (Liberty), Sellasie Otieno (Nzoia Sugar), Unaiz Shajani (Starfield Elite FC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *